» Printer-Friendly Version
History Business Community Medicine Entertainment Education Links News

chairman's message
director's message
what's this site about?
recent developments
business incentives
delco chamber of commerce
city of chester website
online partnerships
contact information

History :: Friends Meetinghouse

In 1675, William Edmundson, Eminent Minister of the Society of Friends (Quakers), Founder and Leader of the Society of Friends in Ireland, held the first meeting in Pennsylvania in Chester.

In 1693, the Quakers built their first meeting house in Chester, on Edgemont Avenue near Second Street. After a theoretical split within the society in 1827, a great portion of the Friends Society moved to its current location, a two-acre plot at 24th and Chestnut Streets. In later years, the original building became a community center and was eventually torn down in 1962.

Today, Chester's historic Friends Meetinghouse stands as a functioning testament to Chester's rich Quaker heritage and its place in the birth of the United States. For hours and more information, please call the Meetinghouse at (610) 874-5860.